Weak Made Strong

“My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When Darkness seems to hide His face
I rest on His unchanging grace
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil
My anchor holds within the veil

Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all
He is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone
Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone; Cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless stand before the throne.”

“Cornerstone” by Hillsong United

Another one of my favorite worship songs. My favorite part continues to be the chorus-the part which states “Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love. Through the storm, He is Lord, Lord of all.” Throughout my lifetime, I have seen so much weakness; I have been surrounded by all different areas of it. I see it in the physical state of certain family members who face permanent illness. I see it in the feeble nature of a newborn. I see it in our society’s susceptibility to so quickly “give in” to what we desire. I see it in three or four day migraines I have myself. I see it in my own insecurities. And I especially see it within human nature itself-how we were never created to face this world alone. 

If you ask anyone, they most likely will say that weakness comes with more of a negative connotation. It is a bad attribute-a flaw-we are taught to be strong in the hardest of times and just deal with it. Lately in my own life, while facing the effects of migraines, I feel completely defeated-weak in every sense of the word. It’s difficult enough to concentrate on anything in general, much less on some select positive thoughts. I admit, it reigns difficult to stay positive at all once another episode comes on, and it often results in an early night to bed with few traces of encouraging thoughts flowing through my head. At this point, I’m not sure if it’s the discouragement I feel from the fact that I’m in the midst of another painful migraine or the realization that it’s already the fourth bad one this month. It’s a time when I have to physically and mentally depend on others-and it’s hard, to claim defeat and willingly accept that for tonight, it’s not going to be okay. The reality is, a great amount of people are suffering at this moment, SO many that have it far greater than myself. SO many. Many who can’t make it through the night, or even an hour of the day, without a constant flow of pain and grief whether it be physical or emotional. 

How are we supposed to get through the storm when the pain is clouding our clarity?

I’ve seen those within my own family deal with the incredible grief that accompanies the lack of strength caused by physical illness; it’s hard to watch these battles played out in front of my eyes, and also know that my own strength can do little to help. It’s a constant battle with oneself-to accept this reality of defeat and weakness, yet still continue to trust ever so fully in the plans that Christ holds. But that’s just it: 

We have to accept the gravity of our weakness in order to see clearly the fullness of Christ’s strength. 

Christ tells us that weakness is okay-not only that, but it is expected in our nature. As seen in 2 Cor. 12:9, “‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” Christ’s power is made perfect within every area of our weakness. Every time we deny our own strength is another time with surrender our being to Christ yet again, highlighting His saving grace. We are made strong in His love, just as the song says. 

No storm will ever be too strong for Christ, so we don’t need to worry how strong it seems for us – we’re not the ones fighting; He’s got it covered. 

If anything, I can find great peace in the fact that my Lord will always be “Lord of all”-He’s never changing and all-enduring. No the pain may not go away soon, or maybe not for a while. And that’s okay. Because God is using it. And His strength prevails. 

My Lord is the one thing that will endure and come out winning in the end, not my pain or my weakness. He will always bring joy in the morning, and even if I’m still searching for bits and pieces of that joy, for now I can rest assured in His sovereignty. He’s strength is constant through my life, I know that, and I guess my weakness will be a reminder of that, during this season, and every other one.

Leave a comment